Writing has been a passion for as long as I can remember but I’ve never really felt like I had anything to say that anyone would be interested to read. Having turned 30 this month I’ve realised that the only barrier to me doing exactly what I want to be doing is myself, so I’m writing for myself and hopefully there will be something here for you too.

Two years ago I made a hugely out of character choice to go along to a martial arts class where my children train and give it a go myself. Now for one I struggled to talk to people and absolutely hated being touched due to suffering with anxiety. So obviously a martial arts class would be potentially the worst decision I could make right? Wrong.

I had seen the huge changes in my children’s confidence and fitness and I wanted that too. I’d like to say I did my first class loved it and that was it but it’s not true. For the first six months I struggled to convince myself to go to classes, sitting literally at the door dressed and ready but unable to step out of it. I got upset and over anxious after other classes depending on who I’d trained with and would have to count and talk to myself.

As I started achieving in class and getting drills right my confidence began to climb, things that seemed beyond my physical capabilities began to develop and I felt myself getting physically stronger. I began to train more often and found myself having less internal conflicts around going, physical contact became natural to me and my body began to change.

As my body changed and became stronger I began looking into ways to fuel myself better, to nourish my body and heal. I wanted to supplement my training so I began a couch to 5k program and in summer 2015 I completed my first 5k run. Again the sense of achievement rocketed my confidence, I’d never in my dreams imagined I could be “a runner”.

I began looking at self improvement and other ways to manage my anxiety, grow my confidence and change my future. I realised that for the first time in my life I was living a whole healthy life. By that I don’t mean eating salad and exercising. I mean looking in the mirror and thinking good things, feeding my passion for knowledge through books and research, experimenting with ways of eating. Finding peace in simplicity and living a better paced life.

I am not writing this at the end of my journey looking back, I’m writing it at the start looking forward. I want to share what I’ve done to get her but more importantly I want people to join me going forward. To inspire others the way I’ve been inspired.

I’d love to hear from you if you’re new to the blog, leave me a comment below with a little intro.

4 thoughts on “Hello

  1. Truly inspiring. πŸ™‚ I’ve always wanted to be fit but never had the courage & determination to do so. And not just getting fit but also in all course of life. I’ve always been scared to step out of my fears. So thanks for sharing. This got me thinking. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have thought, often, of trying mixed martial arts as a way to increase my strength and feel confident in any iffy situation. I’m already on my journey to be healthier – I eat a Ketogenic diet and do at least 1 5K a month. I’m down over 30 pounds in a year. Yes, the weight loss is nice, but getting off my medicines is my real goal. Fantastic post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment! Those are awesome results you’ve achieved and that’s amazing you’ve managed to improve your health that way. you should really give martial arts a go. Thanks so much for reading πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

