I actually try to follow a style of intermittent fasting which I came across years ago when I attempted the 5:2 diet. (#Hangry anyone?) Basically I came across IF from a guy I found on youtube called Gregory (link to his channel here), he promotes a way of eating in which you push your breakfast further into the day in order to aid fat loss and enjoy a more flexible way of eating.

So I typically wake up at 6am and make a warm lemon water as part of my morning routine. Next I’ll have a couple of black coffees as I go about my morning.

If it’s a work day I’ll usually take a couple of pieces of fruit or prep a smoothie to take with me, I like to alternate between green smoothies and fruit smoothies just because I’m conscious of having too much sugar and trying to fit in that rainbow of colours. I’ll probably have this between 10.30 and 11am which is known as breaking my fast.

If it’s a non working day I will have something I can make fresh like eggs or oats. I have a whiteboard in my kitchen that I plan meals on and breakfast just has eggs, oats or fruit listed to keep life simple.

I always listen to my body so if I wake up hungry or I know I need extra energy for training or work I’ll just eat. I’m not a robot and this is real life.

I’ve definitely found an increase in fat loss since I’ve been doing this but what I like about it most is the clarity, I find my mind is so much clearer on a morning, I have more energy and actually I like not having to think about food until later in the day. I love food and I’ll admit it takes up a lot of my daily thoughts.

That being said when I started this in September I didn’t just dive in for the late breakfast I slowly moved it by half an hour at a time.The energy and clarity did not come straight away like anything else it took a period of adjustment and like I said somedays I wake up stomach rumbling hungry so I just eat.

IF has helped me listen for real physical hunger in the rest of my day instead of just boredom eating and also to not fear hunger but embrace it. I’m no expert but I’ve read that during the fasting period your body is able to focus on cell regeneration and repair which can’t be done during digestion. It’s supposed to help with muscle growth and even preventing illness.

One of my favourite breakfasts is a cinnamon banana and oat smoothie

  • 150ml Almond Milk
  • 150ml Water
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp honey
  • A handful of oats

Blend it up and store it in the cold and dark (lunchbox with an ice pack or the fridge) until break-fast. Mix it up somedays by adding in a handful of frozen blueberries too.

Check out my Instagram for some more breakfast ideas and tag me in some of your own.

 

One thought on “What I Eat For Breakfast

Leave a Reply

