When we begin to feel ill we listen for the symptom and take action accordingly, whether thats visiting a doctor, taking medicine or stopping something that is causing it.

Why is it so hard for us to do the same with other signals and symptoms from our bodies? Why when we are hungry do we decide to ignore it, when we are tired do we push on.

Listening to your body is one of the most important parts of making lifestyle changes. Learning to stop and really get to know what your body is trying to tell you.

Learning to tell the difference between physical hunger and boredom or emotional eating. Recognising the signs that you are pushing yourself too hard but also knowing when your body needs to move and be active.

Recognising anxiety or fear and accepting that it is there, it’s a part of you and the only way to move past it is to move forward.

Today I feel burnt out, my head is spinning with to do lists, I am tired and thinking unclearly. It has taken the spring from my step and the smile from my face.

All I need to do to get it back is stop. So I’m going to pour myself a coffee, open up my book and give my mind and body a day off. The to do list will still be there tomorrow but maybe I’ll actually have the energy to tackle it.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Listening To Your Body

Leave a Reply

